Menu Search

The house was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright in 1951 for Patrick Kinney (a Lancaster, Wisconsin attorney), his wife Margaret, and their three children.

Built

1953

Client

Patrick Kinney and his wife Margaret

Address

424 N Fillmore St

Status

Privately owned, available for vacation rental.

Website

Margaret had initially experienced Wright’s architecture firsthand while working at Taliesin as an assistant to Wright’s sister, and was inspired to commission Wright for their home. Construction was completed in 1953. The original plan consisted of a double hexagonal central core housing the living room, dining room, kitchen, master bedroom, and a bathroom. A linear wing housing two bedrooms and a second bathroom extended from the core. After completion, the arrival of a fourth child necessitated an addition for two more bedrooms and a bathroom. Taliesin Fellow John H. Howe, who had supervised the construction of the original house, designed the addition. The Kinney House is now available as a vacation rental on PlansMatter.com and Airbnb. As a unique example of Wright’s non-rectilinear Usonian vocabulary, the Kinney House provides guests a rare opportunity to experience firsthand what it would be like to live in Wright’s “democratic” architecture.

News and updates from the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation