World Heritage List

World Heritage List of 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright

The collection of buildings, formally known as The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright, span 50 years of Wright’s influential career and marks the first modern architecture designation in the United States on the World Heritage List. Of the 1,157* World Heritage sites around the world, the group of eight Wright locations makes up one of 24* sites in the United States.

Eight Frank Lloyd Wright-designed buildings marks the first modern architecture designation on the
UNESCO World Heritage List in the United States.

Unity Temple,
Oak Park, IL

Built 1906-1908
Frederick C. Robie House,
Chicago, IL

Built 1906

First monumental public edifice using concrete which was previously reserved for more utilitarian buildings.Boldly established a new form of domestic design: the Prairie style.
Spring Green, WI

Built 1911, rebuilt 1914 and 1925
Hollyhock House,
Los Angeles, CA

Built 1917
Described as Frank Lloyd Wright’s autobiography in wood and stone. It continues to be a laboratory for individuals to come together for multi-disciplinary learning-by-doing.The building bridges the Prairie style of the preceding decades and his textile block structures of the 1920s.
Mill Run, PA

Built 1935
Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House,
Madison, WI

Built 1936
Wright’s organic architecture is a unified composition of building and landscape where all materials, colors, and design details are derived from nature. The first of Frank Lloyd Wright’s Usonian designs known as USONIA 1.
Taliesin West,
Scottsdale, AZ

Built 1937
Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum,
New York, NY

Built 1956
One of Wright’s most personal creations, the work is linked to its site thru use of local stone and geometries that echo the desert setting.An exceptional icon of the 20th century, the Guggenheim launched the great and continuing age of museum architecture.
  1. Unity Temple. Oak Park, Illinois. Photo by Tom Rossiter courtesy of Harboe Architects. 2. Frederick C. Robie House. Chicago, Illinois. Photo by Nick Abele courtesy of Frank Lloyd Wright Trust. 3. Taliesin. Spring Green, Wisconsin. Photo by Andrew Pielage. 4. Hollyhock House. Los Angeles, California. Photo by Joshua White. 5. Fallingwater. Mill Run, Pennsylvania. Photo courtesy of the Western Pennsylvania Conservancy. 6. Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House. Madison, Wisconsin. Photo by David Heald courtesy of James Dennis. 7. Taliesin West. Scottsdale, Arizona. Photo by Jill Richards 8. Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. New York, New York. Photo courtesy of Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation.

The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright UNESCO World Heritage List Inscription by the Numbers

  • 8: The number of Frank Lloyd Wright buildings inscribed to the UNESCO World Heritage List
  • 15: The number years it took to complete the nomination

  • 50: The number of years the sites inscribed span of Wright’s influential career

  • *1157: The number of World Heritage List properties around the world

  • *24: The total number of sites in US, only 10 of which are cultural sites

  • 10: The amount of selection criteria reviewed when a site is submitted to the World Heritage List, sites must meet at least one

  • 449: Number of realized Wright-designed structures

  • 67: Demolished Wright-designed structures

  • 380: Extant Wright-designed structures

  • 12: The number of Wright’s buildings Architectural Record selected for its list of the 100 most important buildings of the 20th century. The 12 include the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, Taliesin, Taliesin West, and Fallingwater.

  • 74: Public Wright sites, while the rest of sites are private

  • 36: The number of states Frank Lloyd Wright built in

News and updates from the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation